Take me to church

So I was listening to this song this morning (thank you, Nick, for introducing me to it) and apart from being a great song, it’s also an important message, one I’ve been thinking about for a while now, ever since I’ve seen Ruby Rose’s short film.

Just to make it clear, I’m all for tolerance. People deserve respect, no matter who they love, what god they worship, what country they were born in or whatever political group they support. I believe that your freedom ends where mine begins. So I don’t care if you’re gay (as long as you don’t go for my guy, we’re good), or a Muslim, or a Republican. I really couldn’t care less. But this post is about homosexuality, so I’ll stick to that for now. What annoys me the most is when people say things like “I disapprove of gays”. What the fuck does that even mean? That’s like saying “I disapprove of blonde hair”. Okay, well it still exists, it’s still a reality and it won’t stop being so because of your disapproval. Or do you, by saying that, mean that you wish homosexuality stopped existing? Would you have all gay people burnt at the stake? Well, guess what. The Middle Ages are over. Do you call them perverted or sick? Here’s a piece of information for you, the Omniscient one: in 1901, there was a medical dictionary that actually listed heterosexuality as being perverted. Also, homosexuality was officially removed from the list of psychiatric disorders. In short, gays are neither perverted or sick. What else have you got? Oh, yes. It is not “natural”. I suppose that the 1,500 species of animals that engage in homosexual activities would not convince you of the contrary. One of the most retarded anti-gay argument I hear is “[homosexuality] is just a trend, people do it because they want to be cool, it’s the fault of modern society”. Of course, it’s not like god damn Plato talked about it thousands of years ago.

I once read somewhere that in Renaissance France there was even a form of gay marriage, where two men could live together and share their assets and basically have the same rights as any married couple. And here we are, in 2014, having god damn bakers refusing to bake cakes for gay weddings, like it’s the most natural thing to do. Fuck, I’ll bake my own cake, then go home and have sex with whomever I want, because nobody else has a say in it.

As for the church… oh, the church! I seem to remember a chapter in my history book where the church believed that knowledge is dangerous and proceeded to burn books and kill people who dared have more than half a brain. The same Catholic church excommunicated a young girl for having an abortion, but not her father, who raped and impregnated her. And then it just went on sexually molesting little boys and girls. Every time someone brings church as an argument for their ideas, I keep thinking back to the priest my grandma used to take me to. The priest who drove me home one day, when I was 14 and he touched my thigh, noticing how I was “growing up”.  The bible and the church are not valid arguments, for anything going on in the world at the moment. There might be a god out there, I won’t deny that. But church is shit and all it ever does for me is prove how narrow-minded some people are.

Everybody needs to stop being so self-entitled as to think they actually have a say in other people’s lives. We all have the right to love and be loved and I don’t think consensual sex between two adults is anybody’s business. Now, don’t get me wrong. I also don’t think we need parades for it. Basically, what we need to do is grow up and realize that love is beautiful, no matter what form it takes!

Now go watch Hozier’s video and then Ruby Rose’s short film. They are both beautiful and strong and touching. Maybe you’ll learn a lesson.

SB

Leave a Reply

